Here’s the full schedule, dates and matches of the Indian cricket team in 2020

Indian cricket team

Team India and some of the individuals in the side ended the year 2019 and the decade at large on a high after they concluded their 2019 campaign with last series being played against West Indies at home. The team now hops into a new year and new decade that will pose new and different challenges ahead of it.

The year 2020 will have a set of challenges for India where it will play the OCC World T20 in not so accustomed conditions like Australia while also playing a full-fledged series against the Aussies in their own backyard.

But on the first and major challenge Indian team led by skipper Virat Kohli will be its tour of New Zealand in February after playing a couple of series’ against Sri Lanka and Australia at home. New Zealand series will be a full-fledged series unlike the two series’ against Sri Lanka and Australia where it will only play the limited-overs game.

India vs Sri Lanka three T20Is (January 5 – 10):

India will kick off their 2020 campaign with a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. The games will be played at Guwahati, Indore and Pune on January 5, 7 and 10 respectively.

Team India which is set to begin 2020 campaign with a T20I series against the unpredictable Sri Lankan side was made to wait for another two days after the first game of the year in Guwahati was washed away due to rain without a ball being bowled.

India vs Australia three ODIS (January 14 – 19):

The Sri Lanka series will be followed by a three matches ODI series against Australia at home that will be played from January 14th to 19th. The first match of the series will be played at Mumbai on January 14th followed by a second and third game on January 17th and 19th at Rajkot and Bengaluru respectively.

India vs New Zealand 5 T20Is, 3 ODIs, 2 Tests (January 24 – March 4):

India’s first full-fledged series for the year will be against New Zealand when they take on the Kiwis in their own backyard. India will play five T20Is, three ODIs and two Test matches on tour.

The five T20Is will be played on January 24, 26, 29, 31 and February 2 at Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington and Mt Maunganui. The first two T20Is will be played in Auckland’s Eden Park.

The first ODI will be played at Hamilton on February 5 followed by the second and third game of the series at Auckland (February 8) and Mt Maunganui (February 11).

The two-match series will begin at Wellington from February 21 while the second Test will be played at Christchurch from February 29.

South Africa tour of India, 3 ODIs (March 12 – 18):

After a hectic New Zealand tour, Virat Kohli and co will have only eight days before they take to the field once again, this time to host visiting South African team at home for a three matches ODI series that will be played from March 12 – March 18. This will also be the last international assignment for the Indian team before it would enter the IPL Calendar for almost months.

The first match series of the match will be played at the HPCA stadium in Dharamsala while Lucknow will host the second match at its Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium. The final match of the series will be played at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Indian Premier League (March 28 – May 24)

It is that time of the year when all the cricket stars from across the world are found in India for the money-rich and one of the most exciting and lavish cricket event of the year Indian Premier League. The league will mean no International cricket for the men in Blue for over two months and that they will only play the franchise cricket during the period.

India tour of Sri Lanka (July):

The Indian team will re-enter the international arena in July with its tour to Sri Lanka. Although the tour is planned, it is yet to be scheduled, and dates are yet to be announced for the matches. Experts also believe the BCCI will also look to place a low-key series in June against Zimbabwe to provide its bench with a chance to play international cricket in the absence of their star players. There is no official communication in this regard so far.

Asia Cup (September)

Another uncertain schedule for the men in blue in September is the Asia Cup which is likely to be hosted by its neighbour Pakistan. India has not toured Pakistan for over a decade now owing to the turmoil bilateral communications and political relations between the two countries. BCCI will, however, meet in July to discuss its participation and will clear its stand.

England tour of India (September – October)

England will march into India before the ICC World T20 in Australia in November. The schedules and number of matches the English side will play during the year are not announced as yet. The tour will only comprise of a limited-overs match.

ICC World T20 (October 18 – November 15)

After playing England in home conditions, India will embark on the World T20 campaign in unfamiliar Australian conditions. The World T20 will be played between October and November.

India tour of Australia four Tests, three ODIs (November – December)

After the World T20, India will play Australia in Australia for a four-test, and three ODI matches series before returning to India. This will also be the only second Test series India will play in the year after playing against New Zealand in February 2020. The two test series will bear the gap of about eight months between them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *